FranchisePoem2

I try to find the joke
in everything I write
but it’s not easy.
There’s bad shit out there
and no one’s trying to stop it ‘cos
that’s the next guy’s job.

Well the next guy’s
bunkerin’ down. This time
you’re on your own.
I’ve got drinking water,
canned meat, and corn.

I’ve got an old VCR
and batteries.
I’m mottled w/memory
but fun when I’m drunk.

I’ve got mea culpas
up the wazoo.
My attorney’s
on retainer
and the wife’s on drugs.

I’ve cut momma’s cord
from the grid. I’ve got gas,
no windows, and toilet paper.
All the base essentials you’ve
been too dumb to garner.

c.2014 mj http://www.mikejurkovic.com

Leave a Reply

