Screamin’ Jay Hawkins and Me in Our Prime

 

I’m lost in a parking lot\

on the left coast

w/an Afghan Kush
and Grey Goose buzz
when Screamin’ Jay Hawkins
jumps from the Sierra’s screaming:
“What can I do w/eighty-six kids
‘n each of their momma’s
wants my jam?!”

“Get in motherfucker!”
I shout, kicking down the pedal
like a mule vs. gravity.

Knowing I have
a run-away legend in my car
doesn’t un-nerve me.
I expect these things
from time to time, considering how crazy
the world is. How co-dependent
each moment is to another.
How we lose our lives planning
as if we control.

Leave a Reply

